Oh The Places You’ll Go

With only less than 7 hours remaining until I’m on a bus to the airport, I cannot believe it is actually over. Today I found out that I made all A’s and said goodbye to some really amazing people. Since I can’t exactly find a way to sum up my experience here, I decided to make a list of some of the things I’ve learned during my month in Spain. Enjoy 🙂

1. Finding Wifi (‘Wee-fee’) anywhere and everywhere that you can is absolutely essential, especially when traveling.
2. The news in Europe is much more graphic than in America and I found that out when I was eating dinner and a pile of blood appeared on the screen. It does make you much more aware of what’s happening in the world though.
3. Although people in this country may not be in a rush to do much, they are certainly in a rush when they get behind the wheel, so use precaution when crossing the street.
4. Air conditioning really is not a thing here and I understand why they use those paper fans.
5. Navigating public transportation is not for the faint of heart.
6. Europeans in general are much more worldly and know significantly more about the world than the majority of Americans. Get it together, America!
7. Siesta is a gift from God and should be a universal law.
8. Studying abroad is like a roller coaster- there are highs and lows. One minute you love everything about it and the next you hate it and just want to go home. You just have to “ride the highs” and remind yourself why you decided to do it in the first place!
9. Even though things here are unusual, they are not wrong, but simply different, and it’s been very cool and eye opening to experience a different way of life.
10. As amazing as it’s been to live a different life for a month, I love the life I have and wouldn’t trade it for the world!

This has been one of the most unique experiences of my life and I’m so sad that it’s over but cannot wait to get home. I will definitely appreciate home so much more now!
Ok, that’s enough of the sappy sap. Since our bus to the airport is at the ungodly hour of 4am, which means I would have to wake up at approximately 3am, I am joining Team No Sleep for the night. It’s really better for everyone involved since I don’t even think I would be able to function if I were to wake up that early. Time for one last hoorah with the group downtown, and then tomorrow it’s back to the greatest country on the planet! See y’all soon, and thanks for following along!

Muchos abrazos,

Carlina